Preparing for prac and assignment 3

Standard

I finally began looking at week 7’s study plan tonight! Wow!! Everything is laid out in order to help prepare us for our prac experiences. I am meeting with my mentor teacher on Friday this week and can’t wait to begin seriously working on ideas for lessons. I am looking at little birdtales as a resource to use and have found some wonderful activities on scootle. Two that I have found useful are ‘Counting Beetles’, ‘Fractions’ and Exploring addition and subtraction word problems. I am set to go into my meeting at least armed with a couple of ideas, however these may of course change due to the suitability.

When looking at the preparation for the assignment, there is a lot to see about how to investigate the context of my professional experience. Kate has outlined this as well in her blog. Miss Red, talks about 13 free resource tools that all teachers and students  should know about and I also found this useful information. I will endeavour to explore this much further.

We have been asked to outline our professional experience context by several questions.

  • Where is the school?
  • Demographics of the school?
  • Do they support special needs or ESL?
  • The year level we are working with
  • The abilities in the class.
  • Are there children with special needs in the class cohort.
  • The access to ICT’s
  • Is the mentor teacher a proficient ICT user/teacher?

Then discuss our integration of ICT in the learning plans we have developed. – My thoughts are currently with the understanding that ICT’s should be taught through inquiry learning and active student involvement. Collaborative partnerships between the student and teacher should be supported and developed. Also TPACK should be noted. The professional standards should also be mentioned along with the Australian curriculum requirements.

I am excited to learn about the school context I am going into, yet concerned about working with year 2. – Because I  work in prep, I feel like it’s like working with the big kids! – I have found some interesting ideas on youtube that also offer lesson ideas and I am sure that they will help me in my planning.

Mult-e-Maths Toolbox – repeated addition

 

Leave a Reply

