Theories I have seen before

Standard

One of the many theories that I have used before and most probably will continue to use during my study and follow experience as a teacher is Vygotsky’s theory of Proximal Development. when I first began studying I found it very confusing as I couldn’t quite understand the concept. It has taken me many subjects and a great deal of reading to fully comprehend the importance of this theory and how it has changed the education world. tied into this theory is scaffolding, which is something that I found easier to understand as it’s something that i do every day but had no idea. As stated by Kendra Cherry (2013) “the zone of proximal development is the distance between the actual development level as determined by independent problem solving and the level of potential development as determined through problem solving under adult guidance or in collaboration with more capable peers.”One of the fun ways to discover more about the zone of proximal development is to watch this video – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xS_Ftio1ops

A powerful way to learn that I have become more familiar with during my studies is through Howard Gardener’s theories of multiple intelligences. when I first learnt about this theory, I was completely thrown, I had no idea of how to comprehend it, let alone begin to work with it. – Which of course made studying very difficult as I had to apply this theory to unit and lesson plans. After working with the theory and reading quite a lot about how to apply them, I have gained knowledge and experience allowing me to form a more indepth understanding of Gardener’s theory. When implementing this theory into teaching practices, I will be able to gain perspectives on individual learning styles and talents. this will allow me design an appropriate programme that will offer students a classroom learning programme that caters to their individual needs.

Here is a video link of Howard Gardener talking about his theory – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2QtSbP4FRg

Both theories will enable me to be a better educator in my future profession allowing me to work with students to create a learning environment that provides for each students needs and learning styles.

One extra for fun on learning styles – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQYW6vYSGXs

Both theories will enable me to be a better educator in my future profession allowing me to work with students to create a learning environment that provides for each students needs and learning styles.

Leave a Reply

